Christine Cox

Metalsmith
(A typically occasional series by Christine Cox)

The sweeps drawer under my bench used to be a mess. I had tools mixed in with metal scrap, used sandpaper, leather pieces, broken saw blades, and lots and lots of metal shavings from sawing and filing. It was a major undertaking to clean it and a job I avoided. At a local store I found a metal mesh drawer organizer. Now my tools all have individual homes and all I do to clean up the drawer is to lift the organizer out, dump out the sweeps and put the organizer back in. The mesh organizer is a great holder for my most-used tools too.

Silverware holders are also wonderful for organizing tools in drawers. Mandrels, sanding sticks and other hand tools will stay in their assigned slots without beating up their neighbors.

Comments on: "Metalsmith: Kitchen Tools in the Studio" (2)

  1. Great ideas to organize. I recently got a new bench and it has been almost impossible w/ managing to keep it clean. That mesh organizer sounds like a plan!

    • I was just cleaning the sweeps drawer out the other day and thought again how easy the mesh makes it. There was barely anything to clean up in the drawer at all.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

